Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
50' Open (rare boat) Questions
Ok, I have a 2000 41 Open and I have a deposit on a 2003 Tiara 50 Open. Supposedly they didn't make many of these and it really fits my needs. It has the fabulous Tiara Interior the wife likes along with the fishing cockpit i need. I know these boats weren't made for long and they only made a few of them. Does anyone have knowledge of the good and bad of them?
Like Post Reply

I have no first hand knowledge, but there is a thread over on The Hull Truth that claims they ride a little bow high and not that great in a rougher chop. Not sure how a 40,000lbs boat can't ride nice in a chop...

[Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register]

As noted in that thread, an all chain rode might lower that bow some if it was an issue.

Sent from my SM-A505U using Tapatalk
Like Post Reply
Thanks for the link. I know my 41 Open rides a little bow high unless I use quite a bit of tab. I expect the same from the 50. I will see on Tuesday when we survey and seatrial her. I dont worrry to much about really rough water handling. My 5' and up days are behind me. This will be mainly a cruiser with some fishing in between. Gives me the best of both worlds.

One thing I find weird in her is the breaker panel is in the engine room. There is no panel anywhere other than in there. I don't mind the engine room but if those cats are hot, it's gonna make it a little tougher to go switch things on.
Like Post Reply
I tried to purchase a 50 open and talked to an owner up here in Michigan several times. Great guy who does a lot of work with Tiara and an absolutely beautiful boat. From what he told me the boat did tend to ride a little nose high but not a big deal. if I remember correctly, he put all chain anchor rhode and maybe moved the hot water tanks forward a bit (can't remember everything he told me) which moved the CG forward and gave it a much better attitude.