Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
power problem connecting to pedestal with GFI breakers
#1
Anyone having issues connecting to to pedestals with ground fault breakers?

Connected 2 shore power cordsets to 30 amp side on pedestal then boat as soon as I turn on cockpit breakers pedestal gfi’s trip. System on boat checked out fine.
Like Post Reply

#2
You probably have a neutral (white) and ground (green) touching somewhere.

That seems to be a pretty common issue with Marina's upgrading the electrical. BoatUS had a good article on this last month. If I can find the article, I'll post it.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

[Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register]

Wasn't BoatUS, but here is the article I was referring to.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk
Like Post Reply
#3
Had that problem this year in new marina even with all boat breakers off as soon as i plugged into receps on boat and flipped the mains at the shore power conns it would trip. so then i moved my cord to a different shore pedestal and it was fine. Called in the electrician who had installed the breakers and he fixed the problem by replacing the gfcis. This marina has had this issue with several boats.
Like Post Reply
#4
Thanks for the quick replies. Had all breakers in boat off as well. Pointing towards pedestal gfci’s. Marina electrician mentioned they’re running into the issue regularly.
[-] The following 1 user Likes Snowballs's post:
reeltimebrad (06-05-2019)
Like Post Reply
#5
(05-30-2018, 07:37 AM)Misdirection Wrote: [Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register]

Wasn't BoatUS, but here is the article I was referring to.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

My Marina just upgraded all the pedestals and marina wiring to the new National Electric Code with GFCI pedestals and now when I plug in both 30 amp shore power cords and turn on breakers it trips the GFCI at the pedestals.  I can use one or the other power cord and everything works fine, but once I turn on the breaker for the second power cord both trip at the pedestal.  Any tips for troubleshooting appreciated.
Like Post Reply
#6
Faulty gfci's were a problem for me also even though they had recently replaced them in all in the pedestals it seems a high number were faulty. Slip owner tried convincing me it was my boat because they had recently upgraded all the marina wiring.
Like Post Reply
#7
(05-19-2019, 08:22 PM)3200Open Wrote: [Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register]

Wasn't BoatUS, but here is the article I was referring to.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

My Marina just upgraded all the pedestals and marina wiring to the new National Electric Code with GFCI pedestals and now when I plug in both 30 amp shore power cords and turn on breakers it trips the GFCI at the pedestals.  I can use one or the other power cord and everything works fine, but once I turn on the breaker for the second power cord both trip at the pedestal.  Any tips for troubleshooting appreciated.My guess is somewhere you have the two shore power neutral circuits crossed.

Do you have two ac units on the different 30 amp main breakers and only one circulation pump? That is usually a culprit.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk
Like Post Reply
#8
One thing you may want to try is if someone at your marina has a good quality 30 amp splitter, borrow that and test with a single 30 amp cord. That way, even if you do have neutrals crossed on your boat, you shouldn't be tripping the breaker.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk
Like Post Reply
#9
(05-19-2019, 08:22 PM)3200Open Wrote: [Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register]

Wasn't BoatUS, but here is the article I was referring to.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

My Marina just upgraded all the pedestals and marina wiring to the new National Electric Code with GFCI pedestals and now when I plug in both 30 amp shore power cords and turn on breakers it trips the GFCI at the pedestals.  I can use one or the other power cord and everything works fine, but once I turn on the breaker for the second power cord both trip at the pedestal.  Any tips for troubleshooting appreciated.

The fact that you can use one or the other (and I’m assuming that you’re NOT changing the cables’ configuration when you do that) tends to point the finger at the pedestal.

If you have (or can borrow) two 30 amp to 15 amp converters you can verify the issue isn’t your boat. Hook up the converters and plug in two substantial loads (e.g. a portable compressor and a pressure washer). If you can operate both at the same time it’s NOT the pedestal. However, if the pedestal trips in this configuration it’s obviously the pedestal (as opposed to your boat).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Like Post Reply
  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Tiara Open] Bow shore power switch? hookup44 11 523 01-18-2019, 10:09 PM
Last Post: hookup44
  No Power to Deck Lights hookup44 14 1,352 11-17-2018, 06:15 AM
Last Post: ReelMagic
  [Tiara Open] Bow shore power 50 amp hookup44 5 610 11-16-2018, 11:06 AM
Last Post: hookup44
  Using 2 30 amp shore power cords in lieu of a single 50 amp one Fuzzdr 8 1,339 08-17-2018, 11:01 AM
Last Post: ReelMagic
  [Tiara Open] Diode on push breakers under helm Tunatomj 0 540 07-31-2018, 06:21 PM
Last Post: Tunatomj



Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

power problem connecting to pedestal with GFI breakers00